Whipping Post

]

or the longer version with Duane rocking on:

Part two:  

Duane Allman, Doug’s favorite rock musician of all time.  And that’s with 61 Grateful Dead shows,

Three SHows by the Who, having also seen Pink FLoyd three times, including the Animals Tour, way

back, at Carnegie Hall.  No, Santana, the Stone, or Beatles, nor my much beloved Joe Jackson, or

Return to Forever, or any of the new improvosatoinal rock bands like String Cheese Incident, or

the prog rockers who got BEYOND “Yes,” or the heavy SST boys like Black Flag, no, not even the

Seattle days in which Soundgarden may have edged out Nirviana, nor the magic of Radiohead,

the better work of Smashing Pumpkins…not even the lyrical supremecy of Bob Dylan, and his equal

(only equal mind you) Neil Young…no none of it touches what happens to Doug and his friends at

an Allman Brothers show…to this day.  We’ll be there this summer for their 29th return to Raleigh,

and Gregg is singing great the last five years, how’s that for a bonus.  SOmetimes I miss even the drunk

Dickie Betts, and other times I with Victor Wooten (the ONLY suitable replacement for Barry Oakley

on bass) could have, would have stuck around forever, except he had a tendency to extend his solo

to 37 minutes ( he he).  In this live version sincerely LISTEN to Oakley’s bass playing. I loved John

Entwhistle, even Jack Bruce (Cream), but dang alang folks, Barry remains way underrated, especially

as a stylist, and technically equal to Phil Lesh, another outstanding improvisor.  So hard to improvise on

an insturment the whole band (and audience, whether they know it or not)  depends on so much, except

in the bands that are all improv.  Do check out Return to Forever (Stanley Clark’s a decent bass player too, right?)

if you never have, to supplement your Allman Brothers fixation…what not a fan?  Oh, do some research kids!

“Whipping Post”

I’ve been run down
I’ve been lied to
I don’t know why,
I let that mean woman make me a fool
She took all my money
Wrecks my new car
Now she’s with one of my good time buddies
They’re drinkin’ in some cross town bar

Sometimes I feel
Sometimes I feel
Like I’ve been tied
To the whipping post
Tied to the whipping post
Tied to the whipping post
Good lord I feel like I’m dyin’

My friends tell me
That I’ve been such a fool
And I have to stand down and take it babe,
All for lovin’ you
I drown myself in sorrow
As I look at what you’ve done
Nothin’ seems to change
Bad times stay the same
And I can’t run

Sometimes I feel
Sometimes I feel
Like I’ve been tied
To the whipping post
Tied to the whipping post
Tied to the whipping post
Good lord I feel like I’m dyin’

Sometimes I feel
Sometimes I feel
Like I’ve been tied
To the whipping post
Tied to the whipping post
Tied to the whipping post
Good lord I feel like I’m dyin’

Allman Brothers Band Whipping Post Lyrics

Leave a Reply

