Figure Nude II by Mark Eaton

It is ironic to me while I look forward and strive to improve my work that I must also look within myself and into the past when I put together compositions to be considered for portfolios, competitions, exhibitions (public and private), and clients.  This collection presented here is a case in point.  All have been in competitions, and each has been exhibited.  Each and every piece was literally ignored or panned by prominent reviewers during portfolio reviews.

Humbling, yes.  But how to explain why clients purchase these same photographs.  And how to explain that gallery owners exhibited these same photographs.  A connection, a believable metaphor, a trusted relationship with this photographer.  The lesson for me is to follow my own heart and to create using my own vision to the very best of my ability.

Tribute

© 2006 Mark Eaton

Tribute was third place in the 2007 Px3 Public Choice Awards in Fine Art Pro Nudes.

Guitar

© 2006 Mark Eaton

This composition was particularly savaged during a portfolio review; however, less than one week after the review it was sold during an exhibition.  A lead guitarist of a rock band was immediately moved by the composition and claimed it on the spot.  Adding to the irony, in my opinion, was that this work was my first figure nude composition purchased by a client.

To Velazquez

© 2007 Mark Eaton

To Velazquez was a nominee in nude during the 2007 Photography Masters Cup at the International Color Awards.  This composition was my first figure nude photograph to be published in a photography book.

Hilborn and His Work

© 2007 Mark Eaton

David Hilborn is a prolific artist currently based in Chicago.  Personable and talented and respected.  This composition was in a series that placed first in the 2008 Prix de la Photographie Paris, People’s Choice Awards, Fine Art People category.

Bridge IV

© 2007

This composition was in a series that placed first in the 2008 Prix de la Photographie Paris, People’s Choice Awards, Fine Art People category.

Battle

© 2007 Mark Eaton

Katy T is an actress, fine art model, dancer, and choreographer from the United Kingdom.  A remote area in Arizona provided the backdrop for several compositions with this tireless performer.   Just to note, that is a tree branch that poses as the mythical dragon that a forest nymph is battling.  That branch fell from an enormous tree during  a storm.

Battle was in a series that placed first in the 2008 Prix de la Photographie Paris, People’s Choice Awards, Fine Art People category.

Sculpture II

© 2006 Mark Eaton

This rendition was part of a series that placed third in the 2008 Prix de la Photographie Paris, People’s Choice Awards, in the Portraiture Other category.

Though these models featured above are a sample of my figure work in the United States, I do also work with Korean figure models.  Some of the work with Korean figure models have placed in competitions and have been exhibited.  Please contact me if interested in modeling and/or purchasing any of my work for private or public display.  I also do work by commission.

I am a member of the International Artists Community, which is based in Seoul, South Korea.  See some more of my work and the work of the other artists at IAC:  International Artists Community

My email:  ingaudiopulchritudo@gmail.com

All photographs:  © Mark Eaton

Comments
2 Responses to “Figure Nude II by Mark Eaton”

Leave a Reply

