Miru Kim Exhibits at Trunk Gallery in Seoul — by Mark Eaton

Miru Kim is currently exhibiting a thought provoking and powerful photographic series at Trunk Gallery in Seoul.  “The Pig That Therefore I Am” is a soul baring and intellectual study of the senses, the child’s awareness that animals are indeed living beings, and the adult’s thinking that animals are useful tools for humans.

In her statement about this featured series, Miru Kim examines the cultural significance the pig has had in times past.  It is noteworthy that she researches well her series as evidenced by her citations and references in the body of her statement introducing “That Pig Therefore I Am” and in the footnotes of the statement.  The compositions show the close relationship pigs and humans truly have.  Additionally, the tenderness and innocence of a child’s world is contrasted pointedly by the managed living conditions.

The exhibition concludes Monday, April 30, 2012.

For contact information and for the location of the gallery, the Trunk Gallery website is here.

The Miru Kim website is here.  I highly recommend reading the statements written by Miru Kim as they offer a great insight of the artist.

I’ve been fortunate to have worked with more than a few Korean figure models and non-Korean figure models in South Korea.  While professional, each has collaborated with a creative and artistic flair to assist in creating something worthwhile and lasting.

Please contact me if interested in modeling and/or purchasing any of my work for private or public display.  I also do work by commission.

I show my photography on my website: Photography by Mark Eaton

I am a member of the International Artists Community, which is based in Seoul, South Korea.  See some more of my work and the work of the other artists at IAC:  International Artists Community

My email:  ingaudiopulchritudo@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

