More Context means Better Discourse

When I wrote about Navigating Health Checks last week, I shared it on Facebook and got some great replies. What I noticed were two things.

More words (discourse), better understanding of context

Those who had the most positive things to say, wrote the most. They took the time to share more context to explain when things were culturally uncomfortable, why that was so and may be even offer some advice.

Anchoring Error

Those with the more reactionary, horror-inspired stories were in Gwangju. And the one person who wrote a positive comment about Gwangju, also reprimanded lightly for focusing on only the horror (despite my asking for horror stories and advice).

I wrote: “If you have a horror story or advice to give . . . ”

What this tells me about the shorter stories is that people got anchored on the first of the list (horror stories) and didn’t associate ‘advice’ as being an opposite of ‘horror’ as I had intended. Additionally, my they may well have actually read my post and not just the title of the post and the plea of  “If you have a horror story or advice to give people who have newly arrived about navigating the Korean Health Care System, hospitals and doctor appoints, please share.” So they could have anchored to my negative story as well.

I am excited that so many (women, no men) responded with lots of quality info.

Leave a Reply

